Brand New

Image

 

I have a new pair of shoes!  Well, not exactly. 

Shoes are a low priority for me. They say that black goes with everything, and I’ve been living by that motto for the past 6+ months. (Okay, 2 years.) Every Sunday I reach for the same flat, black, nondescript shoes.  There is nothing wrong with them, other than looking old.  They’ve served me well.

A few Sundays ago, I looked down at my feet and thought it was probably about time I did something about my shoes.  That leaves me with a dilemma.  First, I just flat-out detest shoe shopping.  My feet are long, and finding some that fit can be tricky.  Secondly, I can’t seem to justify spending money on shoes if I already have something in my closet.  I feel wasteful.

Well, I came up with a solution.  Today I cut the miniscule bows off my black flats, used a leather cleaner, polished them, Krazy-glued some trim around the top edges, and sewed a button on each.  Voila!  I got to enjoy being creative, and I saved money and the headache of shopping.  I’m a happy woman.

As I was gluing on the trim, it occurred to me that all we can do is remake the outside of things, ourselves included.  Even if you go through a fast or cleanse, you’re still only altering the body.  Only Jesus Christ can change the heart.  Take a self-help course, get a personal trainer…..there is a limit to any change they can make.  Yet if you give your life to Christ, you are made anew.  2 Corinthians 5:17 says, “…if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new..”  (NKJV)

I pray “that He would grant you [each of us!], according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with might through His Spirit in the inner man, that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the width and length and depth and height— to know the love of Christ which passes knowledge; that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.”  (Ephesians 3:16-19)  Oh, how great is His love for us! 

Only He can make you anew.

Posted on April 25, 2013, in All except books of Bible and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I too am a shoe person, but in this new world of retirement, I find I certainly don’t need new shoes. Plus I really no longer need all the shoes I had for work. I gave up buying anything during Lent that was non-essential…just groceries and things we had to have…now that Lent has passed, I am trying to maintain that mindset–not only to be more economical in my life, but to be less frivolous and wasteful, less materialistic. I love your repurposing of these shoes! I thought they look quite “chic” and very fashionable–hooray for your ingenuity as well as your eye for fashion 🙂

Leave a Reply

