Sola Scriptura

Image

 

I enjoy cooking.  Even more, I love the dinnertime meal.  Comfort food is definitely my favorite.  A bowl of Red Beans and Rice or pintos cooked with ham are soul-soothing meals.  Spanish Rice brings back memories from my childhood in the 60s, and don’t get me started on Shrimp Creole or spaghetti.  My latest comfort food is an asparagus, mushroom, and shrimp combo with a soy sauce and white wine sauce over rice.  Those are the evenings that I get excited about. 

Today, however, I made a summertime standby: Gazpacho.  Have you ever had it?  It’s really quite good.  Gazpacho has a partially pureed tomato base to which you add chopped peppers, cucumbers (as many as I can get to fit in the container), an onion, garlic, and a little oil and sherry vinegar.  I made it this morning so that it can chill all day.

Cooked vegetables are wonderful, but you have to realize that they have been altered by the heat.  Water-soluble vitamins such as C dissolve in the water, and you lose much of the fruit or vegetable’s nutrition.  The heat enhances other nutrients, such as beta-carotene.  I’m okay with the alteration, as long as I can also have raw vegetables, too, either as Gazpacho, a salad, or with a dip.

As I was chopping the vegetables this morning, I began comparing the study of Scripture with the foods we eat.  We can read what others have written about God’s Word and get a lot out of it, but be very aware that it has been processed by another.  Sometimes this is helpful, assuming the author has been faithful to the Word.  Other times it has polluted—even perverted—Scripture.  You have to be so careful what you are feeding your heart, mind, and soul!

As you listen to a speaker or read a book or blog, pass the words by Scripture. Is your antenna waving?  If so, find out why.  Are they faithful to the only Word that matters—God’s Word?  If not, move on.

Lately I have longed only for the pure unadulterated Word of God as opposed to an exposition on it by others.  I want to hear God clearly—to feel the movement of the Holy Spirit– without any veil between us.  I haven’t wanted to inundate you with my words, either.  Thus, I have been posting only Scripture.  Sola Scriptura.  I’ll write again, but for now, let’s focus on the written Word of God.  Whether you follow along in Scripture at this blog or elsewhere does not matter.  Just saturate your soul with the holy, precious Word written for our benefit.

We’ll be finishing Romans tomorrow, and next week we’ll start on the first book of the Bible—Genesis.

Until later!

Posted on July 31, 2013, in All except books of Bible and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. great analogy as I have always associated food with fellowship–earthly and Heavenly–I was going to grill fish, you are making me change my mind 🙂

    • Oh, stick with the grilled fish!!!! I’ve never had it grilled outside. I imagine Jesus and the disciples on shore, cooking their freshly caught fish over an open fire. Maybe next week I’ll give it a try. 🙂

  2. I really like this post. The way youturn the subject in the last part is lovely! And most of all true. Of course, and I may be opening a subject too great to analyze in just two lines, even the translation of God’s word from language to language makes a great difference. And of course each one of us have grown with different backgrounds that “colour” the Word. As Paul said, “Love and do what you like”, that is the catalyst of our christian faith.

    • Thanks, Vassilis! I avoid paraphrase “translations” of the Bible since they are presenting their interpretation of what the Bible means. I’d rather rely on the Holy Spirit for enlightenment as I read a literal (word for word) translation such as the New American Standard (NASB), English Standard Version (ESV), or the New King James Version (NKJV). And for the Psalms, it’s hard to beat the King James Version (KJV). God honors the sincere seeker when we ask for Him to open our hearts to Him. Jesus said the two greatest commandments are to love God and others. With Him at the helm and a desire to follow Him, you do well.

  3. I follow the translation of O, in the Greek language, it is not that hard to read, even though considered ancient Greek. There are several translation to the modern Greek, but I always like the poetry and rhythm of the original first.

    • O must be analogous to the King James Version in English. The KJV is the one with the beautiful flow of language that I adore, especially with the Psalms.

Leave a Reply

